FIFA World Cup 2022 Prize Money for winners

There is plenty of money to be won at Qatar’s 2022 FIFA World Cup.

Although the main focus for many teams is on winning the famous trophy and representing their nation effectively, winning on the field is an immediate benefit.

FIFA hasn’t been slow in the realm of prizes for World Cups in recent years, and 2022 will be no different, with massive bonuses available for grabs.

FIFA World Cup 2022 Prize Money for winners

Total prize money to be won at the 2022 World Cup

FIFA has allocated $440 million of prize money for 2022’s World Cup in Qatar.

This is an increase of 40 million compared to the 2018 World Cup, which was a mere $358m in prizes offered during the 2014 World Cup in Brazil.

Although it’s significant, FIFA has a revenue plan of $4.6 billion by 2022 in 2022, with broadcasting rights set to bring in $2.6 billion.

What is the amount of prize money 2022’s World Cup winners get?

FIFA has announced in April that 2022’s Qatar World Cup champions will be awarded a record amount of $42 million in prize money.

It’s an increase of $4 million compared to the previous year and is the trend of seeing the winnings’ paychecks grow dramatically over the past 40 years.

In the past, the World Cup winning teams could not pocket more than $10 million, with 1982’s champions Italy taking home “only” $2.2m to show their effort.

In 2002 the year 2002, there was a massive demand from national teams FIFA to boost the number of prizes offered and to increase World Cup revenue, ensuring such payments were handed over to successful groups.

FIFA has announced its total prize money for World Cup 2022 with a significant rise of 29%, bringing the actual prize money to $1 billion of the $440m to be divided across 32 teams by how they perform at the end of their final game of the World Cup. The remaining $600 million can be used to pay solidarity to lesser-developed associations, club benefits, and player protection and insurance plans for clubs. We will guide you through the entire prize money breakdown.

Rounds Prize Money Breakdown
Participation Fee (for all 32 qualified teams) $2.5 million (each)
Group Stage (16 teams which get eliminated) $8 million (each)
Round of 16 (8 eliminated teams) $12 million (each)
Quarterfinals (4 eliminated teams) $16 million (each)
Fourth Place $22 million third third
Third Place $26 million runners
Runners-up $32 million
Champions $45 million

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.